Becoming Allergic to the World

Let me introduce myself. My name is Allison, and I’ve recently become allergic to life. Well, not so much life as the world in general.
Now first off, I’ve always been allergy prone, which in and of itself is no fun growing up. Now, life got a bit rocky my freshman year of college, 2009, when I went through a series of horrible allergic reactions. I couldn’t breathe. I lost all stamina and energy. I was constantly covered in painful itchy hives, and generally miserable.
After six months of misery, I was diagnosed as being highly gluten intolerant. Now, adjusting to being gluten free as a freshman in college is pretty damn difficult.
Along with my studies, I also had to learn how to re-eat. I became one of “those” people that were semi-shunned in an eating out scenario, before gluten free became the new Hollywood fad diet. Now, after five years of coping as gluten free, the bitter joys of life, who have a twisted sense of humor, tossed me a new curveball.
In January of 2014, I very suddenly became incredibly ill, covered in painful itchy hives all over my body. I simultaneously felt like I was dipped in acid, looked like I had contracted leprocy, and existed in a constant antihistimen haze of delusion, pain, and itchiness. I was popping Benadryl like they were M&Ms, and stockpiling Claritin, Zyrtec, Singular, Allegra, and any other over the counter antihistimene I could get my hands on. I could barely function between the pain, the itching, and the drugged haze I now existed in. Basically, I looked like Violet from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. 
Once I was able to get into my doctor, they were astounded as well. No one, including myself, knew how I was able to function on so many sleepiness inducing allergy meds, nor how my body was still functioning at any level. The most concerning side effect was my constant wheezing and shortness of breathe, as well as a ring of welted hives wrapped around my neck. For any of you severe allergy sufferers out there, you all know that difficulty in breathing and reactions around your throat are typically the first signs of anaphalxysis. Consequently, we proceeded with allergy testing: a full food allergy blood panel sent off to the Mayo Clinic.
After two weeks of waiting, I learned that suddenly I have developed deadly allergies to: dairy, egg, soy, peanut, codfish (who the hell is allergic to CODFISH!?), on top of already being gluten intolerant.
So, being a girl in love with baked goods, pastries, and anything that makes my taste buds dance in gastronomical delight, I have endeavored to start a journey toward learning to eat and cook in a world filled with deadly allergens. Join me on my journey toward delicious food that will aim to be gluten free, dairy free, egg free, soy free, and peanut free.
Welcome to the World of the Allergic Baker!
4 thoughts on “Becoming Allergic to the World

  1. You’re incredibly strong to turn your allergies into a strength by learning how to cook around it! I’m sure you’re going to give inspiration to people who suffer from allergies everywhere! (:

Leave a Reply

